The Devil in Her Eyes

FLYMOUTH

The Devil in Her Eyes

The devil popped ‘round for a visit last night;
the donkey he came in on was undersized,
and Nick’s hooves (bleeding and cracked to the bone)
scraped over the burnt rice stalks.
My stubble itched.

Lucifer’s electric guitar howled unearthly melodies;
he chipped a nail strumming those rusty strings,
and his eyes (never did they make contact)
examined the core of my soul.
My heart bled.

I pulled away from her and opened a window;
she shuddered, let out a sigh
that warmed my back
and left the sheets draped in evil silence.
I’d seen the devil in her eyes.

art by Craig Hopson

words by Ramon Ramirez

Leave a Reply

